Tore Up From The Floor Up :)

Leave a comment

October 24, 2012 by pistolphanie

tore up from the floor up

a delightful NPSS rifle/pistol combo complete with phone and tablet application and adapter

DAY ONE (technically two but who’s counting anyways) of the Pistol Phanie Gunslinger Training.

My super stud muffin instructor made it to town yesterday. After a 12+ hour flight I figured he was probably hungry so I made it a top priority to fill his tummy with delicious indian cuisine….and sushi.

For the record, if you’ve never combined the two – proceed with caution.

Needless to say, after a serious bout of indigestion – and that’s putting it mildly – it was time for the Immersion Training to begin.

My fearless teacher started our week with a two hour PowerPoint Presentation discussion on the importance of keeping your weapon pointed down range at all times. This lecture included graphic footage of careless gun handling accidents and police reports.

The presentation worked. I won’t even point my finger unless I can do it “down range”. Period. That was the first night. I went home and dreamed of empty casings flying past my eyes in slow motion…then woke this morning wondering if it was a sign of things to come.

And it was.

After a ferocious breakfast of pancakes, three kinds of sausage (yes three – beef, turkey and I’m thinking cat)….and a pot of coffee, we headed south of town and took a quiet back road, past a shot up home painted sign that read “locals only”….into the wild beyond.

We picked a quaint hillside, speckled with old growth Junipine (I guess that’s what happens when Pine trees have babies with Junipers? I honesty don’t know), we climbed to the very top of a rocky outcrop and proceeded to strip down to nothing but our bullet proof vests and tactical pants. The whole time I’m thinking to myself, “this guy doesn’t mess around”. How right I was.

My instructor pulled a copy of “The Art of War” from his backpack and ordered me to sit on a lichen covered boulder, cross my legs and close my eyes. The whole thing seemed a bit extreme but – hey – I like to think of myself as an open minded woman….so I pulled my hair back into a loose ponytail and did what he said.

After reading the entire novel aloud (thank you Sun Tzu for your wisdom and insight) we put the rest of our clothes back on, descended the hillside and headed towards the local shooting range.

From there it was magazine after magazine of brass beneath baby blue fall skies (as I type this, I’m also applying copious amounts of aloe vera to my 3rd degree farmers tan), hour after hour after glorious hour. By the time we made it back to town I was sore in places I didn’t even know existed…..and a better shooter. Undoubtedly.

Of the things I can say about working for NPSS, one of them is this:

Their instructors are first class all the way.

I’m so thankful for the opportunity to glean some wisdom while improving my shooting skills.

And tomorrow is another day, I haven’t a clue what he’s got planned for Wednesday. Right now, it’s time for me to fall exhausted in to bed and dream of bulls-eyes and gun smoke.

I’ll report back in with my experience soon, until then please be good, be safe……and have fun.

😉 muah.

Pistol Phanie

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Cool Stuff Happening All the Time!

The Big DayOctober 22nd, 2012
The big day is here.

Mama’s Little MP15-22

Every Day Is A Blessing

Hit it and Quit it.

